The SUN-HERALD City2Surf Race - JEM Promotional Products
  • The SUN-HERALD City2Surf Race

    13 August, 2017

    History tells us that the inspiration for this great event came via a note from Fairfax’s US correspondent, who sent a newspaper clipping in 1970 about the San Francisco Bay to Breakers to the editor of The Sun newspaper, Jack Tier.

    From that internal memorandum The Sun-Herald City2Surf was born, albeit humbly, in 1971, with just over 2,000 entrants (only 2% of the field was female). In the years since it has been proven time and again that no other fun run in the Southern Hemisphere matches The Sun-Herald City2Surf in terms of organisation or demographics. For the first time in the event’s history women outnumbered men in the capacity field of 63,451 in 2006: it is truly a community event attracting entrants from all walks of life and all ages.

    Out in front, the stars chase glory and a place in race history. The Sun-Herald City2Surf is acknowledged as Australia's premier road race and the Honour Roll reads like a who's who of Australian champions:

    • Robert de Castella (1977 and 1981)
    • Steve Moneghetti (four consecutive wins 1988-1991, including the course record of 40.03 in 1991)
    • Andrew Lloyd (1983, 1984, 1986 and 1993)
    • Lisa Ondieki (1988 and 1991)
    • Heather Turland (1994 and 1996)
    • Susie Power (2001 and 2002, who holds the women's record of 45.08)
    • and inspirational Australian Commonwealth medallist Kerryn McCann (2005)

    While line honours in the inaugural City2Surf went overseas (American Kenny Moore), it took fifteen years before the trophy went abroad again when Englishmen Hugh Jones was the victor. This is in stark contrast to recent years where the men’s division has seen a domination of overseas athletes crossing the finish line at Bondi in first place. South African John Morapedi (1995 and 1996), American Daniel Browne (1998), Kenyan Laban Chege (1999 and 2000), Tanzanian John Msuri (2001), Jussi Utrianen from Finland (2002), Patrick Lusato again from Tanzania (2003, 2004 and 2005) and In the women's field, Tasmania's Hayley McGregor took line honours in 2003 and 2004, Kerryn McCann in 2005 and Victorian Anna Thompson taking line honours in both the 2006 City2Surf and The Sydney Morning Herald Half Marathon.


    Make the day a corporate event success with branded merchandise. Contact JEM Promotional Products for more information on how to utilise this popular event to promote your brand or company with promotional products.


Feedback Form